Maritime Transport

Whats the deal with Maritime Transport? Truck & Driver carry a full page ad every month with Maritime guaranteeing work for owner drivers and what appears to be a great fuel offer as well. And on their website it even says if you buy a truck from them you will get priority work as well, anything up to £2,000 a week. Does anyone know anything about it or better still have they worked for them either as an OD or a staff driver. I would love to know is it as good as it looks? Can you earn a decent wage from it? Im new at this game so would appreciate the advice of the more experienced people. Any help or pointers would be appreciated.

Regards to all

3 things bud
1st welcome to the site

2nd do a search on maritime there is plenty on here about them

and 3rd the fact they are advertising every month should give you a clue !!

i used to work for them and the od’s seemed to get all the slow jobs and the boat catchers.

as to work for depends on the depot your on for

I went to Tilbury and met Tom Cole, with a view to going on with Maritime as an OD…

To cut a long story short, you will be expected to work every legal hour you can, do a minimum of 1400 miles before so called guarenteed [sp] earnings, which you lose if you ask to be home early, there is no £2000 min on artics, thats only drawbars, artics are £1800…

Out of this comes fuel, the 72ppl in the ads is done via thier mileage, it does not take into account the extra you will do running around Ports for boxes etc, all your running costs, plus the £100 a week trailer hire, and no you wont get your own trailer, you will be dropping them on a regular basis and picking up another, so trailer checks are doubly esential, as the last guy could have done damage which you could be liable for.

Also take out Ins, Tax, parking, food, wages…

I walked away. :confused: