Manual tachograph entries

Hi folks I’m a newbie hoping to be driving soon and I’m a bit confused about manual tachograph entries. In what cases do you have to put a manual entry in ?

To record any work you do at times when you don’t have your card or a chart in a tachograph.
For example if you have have to do paperwork in the office before going to the vehicle at the start of the shift or after you leave the vehicle at the end of the shift. Or if you do a shift when you don’t drive a tachograph vehicle, like driving a van or working in the yard.

I personally use or used to use in my case now, manual entries as a way of making my shift times easier to remember.

Previous company encouraged a stick it in and drive.

Current company i work for has the policy that all steering wheel attendants must use manual entries.

Ive found alot of people are scared of them and some experienced drivers give you the line “manual entries…eff that” but i think its down to them not being sure how to do them. I got some good advice on here, a youtube video and also used the company training sustem for 15 mins to make sure i had it right. Been doing them religiously for
just over a year and yet to have an infringement off them.

Do them, they keep you right. We all have time pre and post driving that needs recorded unless you are leaving your keys in the truck and have no paperwork.

If you’re a Newbie and don’t know what to do, grow a pair (play the Newbie card :wink:) and ask an experienced hand…

But bear in mind that a significant number of experienced blokes don’t actually know how to do manual entries…

Sent using smoke and mirrors

Radar19:
I personally use or used to use in my case now, manual entries as a way of making my shift times easier to remember.

Your no longer driving for a living?

123smith:

Radar19:

Your no longer driving for a living?

Nah, I drive on nights. I don’t need to remember when I started because I’m always getting in 11 hours rest.