Manual entry question

Hi all, just a quick question for you. I’m sure I know the answer but just want to double check to make sure.

I’ve been driving hgv for several years now and it was only today that i have had to drive on a digi card then analogue then back to digi.

My question is… Lets say I worked and drove from 2pm till 6pm on digi then swapped to an analogue lorry from 6pm till 8pm then went back to the digi unit at 8pm… Do i need to write a manual entry on the back of the taco to show that i have driven before and after my time in the analogue unit even though its recorded on my card?

It says this on the drivers hours and taco rules…

It is possible that a driver may during the course of a day drive two or more vehicles where both types of recording equipment are used. Drivers in such a situation must use a driver card to record while driving a vehicle with a digital tachograph and tachograph charts when driving a vehicle equipped with an
analogue device. Time away from the vehicle may be recorded on either recording equipment, but there
is no need to record it on both.

To me this says no as it has been recorded so no need to make manual entry’s on either. As I said, its probably a silly and obvious answer question but its just something I wanted to make sure about.

Many thanks in advance

I would make a note on the analogue chart and keep it with a printout from the digi unit. If you could make a manual entry on the digi card to show driving time then I’d only use the digi. Why this is not an option on the digi tacho’s I don’t know but it would help in situations like yours.

Make sure you have no gaps in between driving these vehicles in other words make sure you show what you’ve been doing as any gaps which don’t show anything are an infringement.

The bit in bold says it all

As Rog says, you’ve answered your own question.