MAN auto clutch life

Anyone got any experience of how long a clutch will last in an automatic MAN please? Mine is 06 plate and has clocked up 742000km. No sign of clutch going yet but just wondering whether to replace before it does go!

Matt.

How much of the history do you know? I’m far from an expert but it could have already had one at that mileage surely?

Paul

the clutch on the full auto box such as the MAN and DAF will last a lot longer than a manual clutch, as the driver abuse is removed from the situation

i was told by a DAF technician that it is very rare for the clutch to go in the auto truck

repton:
How much of the history do you know? I’m far from an expert but it could have already had one at that mileage surely?

Paul

Not a lot to be fair Paul. I rang Steadplan from Clitheroe last week as it was on their contract hire fleet but their records only went back to January 2010 as they changed the computer system. I know that it hadn’t had one between then and me buying it in November 2011.

Matt.

shuttlespanker:
the clutch on the full auto box such as the MAN and DAF will last a lot longer than a manual clutch, as the driver abuse is removed from the situation

i was told by a DAF technician that it is very rare for the clutch to go in the auto truck

Yeah it goes without saying that driver abuse is removed but some drivers may sit at lights etc with it in gear and close to the biting point. I don’t as I’m an o/d but I can’t account for the driver who had it before me!!

Cheers for the reply

Matt.

I was on an MAN training course a few years ago and they unofficially expect them to last around 850 to 900,000KMs. You will not find it written down or confirmed as far as I know it is just for technicians reference. We recently had an '05 unit changed at 600,000KMs but it was on urban tipper work and the operator was pleased with the mileage. The local main Dealer supplied and fitted it cheaper than they would sell the clutch to us to fit!