Ltd Companies

Having been working for various agencies around the south of England i have recently been advised to set up my own limited company from other drivers and the agencies themselves, so i can carry on enjoying certain tax benefits which i have had working through umbrella companies such as Nova etc. However having been to see an accountant today i have been advised from doing so, telling me that it’s really not worth it in the long run.
Can anyone tell me of their experiance’s with their own ltd company and let me know wheather it really is worth it. As am now in two mind’s to set one up or not. Thank you .

:smiley: Hi onedrop, WELCOME. :grimacing:

I can’t help with your question, but I welcome you just the same. :smiley:

have a good go with the search in between " chat" and “memberlist” its brings up 7237 results.

Hi Onedrop

I work as an IT contractor in Yorkshire and drive inbetween contracts all done through a Ltd Company via agencies.
A limited company can be better if the costs work out, the extra running costs of a limited company have to be less than umbrella company costs. In my case the running costs are far less and there are more deductable expenses so the eventual take home pay is greater.
If you are prepaired to do the simple book work yourself then the extra costs will be minimal.
If I was cynical, which of course I’m not, I suspect the accountant realises it may not benefit them in the long run, if you aren’t going to be “vattable” then they wont make much in the way of fees from you!

Did the accountant explain why it is not a good idea ?

If you can get enough work what problem could there be ■■

strongbow:
If I was cynical, which of course I’m not, I suspect the accountant realises it may not benefit them in the long run, if you aren’t going to be “vattable” then they wont make much in the way of fees from you!

Oooh you cynic. Accountants don’t think like that, surely!!

Onedrop, have a look here -

freelanceuk.com/index.shtml