Lorry drivers / Cyclists

I’m a journalist at The Times and I’m trying to find a lorry driver who’s been involved in a collision with a cyclist.

Reading the posts on here, it’s clear that there’s a lot of criticism of cyclists that don’t follow the rules, and I know that cyclists don’t have much sympathy for lorry drivers either.

So I want to interview a lorry driver who has been in the horrible situation of being in a collision with a cyclist, to try to help people to see it from their point of view.

If anyone is interested, please send me an email on ruth.maclean@thetimes.co.uk or give me a ring on 07771912952.

Thanks everyone.

NB for moderators: Rikki has OK’d my post, so please don’t remove it!

Welcome to the forum Ruth.
The collision on the A19 yesterday was in my area for the police scheme, our lads recovered the artic (I’m on my days off).

I’m sure the haulage industry as a whole appreciate your efforts for trying to portray both viewpoints, though I seriously doubt you will get your interview with the driver, not for quite some time anyway.

As this was a fatality there will be an inquest, typically these don’t conclude for at least a year, and it would be extremely unwise for the driver to be interviewed by the press prior to the outcome of the inquest (he will have been advised not to comment by his legal advisors).

However, inquest reports for older cases are available in the public domain and may be a more suitable source of information.
Hope this helps,
Cieran

Welcome to the forum Ruth

Ive not had a collision with a cyclist, but at the age of 14, I was close to being squashed by the trailer wheels of a Artic.

Until I got into driving artics, I always thought that the driver was to blame, now knowing that I was probably to blame due to not knowing the blind spots on a Artic and the driver was unable to see me

I feel that everyone should be aware at a early age of the dangers of every type of vehicle, esp Artics and their blind spots.