Looking for truck info

Hello everyone

I’m researching trucking for a story I’m writing, and wanted to ask this forum a few questions…

What are the most respected makes of trucks - historically & contemporary? Any idea what makes of trucks are famous around the world? Someone told me Peterbilt is an American Icon - are there are any iconic UK brands, or worldwide brands?

Have any of you done any international trips? Any stories? Do you know of any famous routes around the world - maybe, for example, through the deserts of Africa or the snow plains of Siberia? Are there any famous (or should it be infamous!) routes - ie longest, most remote, most dangerous?

I’d love to hear any of your thoughts, recommendations and stories.

Thanks for reading this
Emma

Just in case people are wondering - I’m a development researcher & I’m developing a programme story idea about trucking round the world (so no deals to make it yet…but you never know!). So I wouldn’t quote any info, recommendations or stories that you tell me (I’m not a journalist!) - I’m just trying to get some great ideas about trucks and routes. I’m thinking the Australian Road Trains or routes across Siberia where (I’ve been told) drivers light fires under the engines to stop them freezing - is that an urban myth?! (You can tell I’m a total truck novice!)

Perhaps you could point me in the direction of any UK based clubs that I could also talk to?

Any help is greatly appreciated
Cheers
Emma

Fires under engines in really cold weather (-30 and below) is not a myth, sometimes it’s the only way to unfreeze an engine enough to get it started.
Not done it myself, but I know people who have.

Over here (up state Ny) we don’t light fires … LOL

We do leave the engines running 24/7 to stop them freezing when sometimes for a 2 or 3 months it touches -50f.