Looking for advice.

First of all, Hi :slight_smile:

Have been stalking this forum for the past week reading every thing i can trying to convince myself that this is definitely the right direction for my future career, safe to say i think i have my head and heart set on it now.

I’m hoping to do both my “C” & “C+E” in one go, is this a good idea, or am i possibly trying to do too much, given that i have no experience in this side of the transport industry.

I’ve requested the paperwork from the DVLA to get my provisional, and i am hoping to get some money saved by early spring to start my training, just a few things i want to find out before i start.

1, If i do my medical in the coming weeks for my provisional, how long is it good for?

2, Is there any part of the training i can do of my own back without the need to go through a training centre, just trying to find ways to cut down the amount i would have to pay in one lump sum when it comes to doing the training.

3, When it comes to that first job are you expected to just get on with it or, do you generally get a few days shadowing another driver?

Thanks in advance for your time and expertise.
Dan.

Question 3 : Depends on the company, some say turn up for work and throw the keys at you and the run sheet, for 15 deliveries you have never done before .
Won’t show you how to use the tail lift and other essential equipment used .
Won’t tell you the best route advise for deliveries .
Will give the new start, the jobs that nobody else wants to do, and be the last driver to get back to base.
The medical is valid for two nonths before you send it to the Dvla .

DanHill87:
1, If i do my medical in the coming weeks for my provisional, how long is it good for?

2, Is there any part of the training i can do of my own back without the need to go through a training centre, just trying to find ways to cut down the amount i would have to pay in one lump sum when it comes to doing the training.