Looking for a job questions

I’m wondering if this is a good time in the year to change my career?
I passed class 2 licence three months ago.
I have a non-driving permanent job but for last couple of weeks I’ve been trying to get new job as a driver.
There is a lot of agency work now - but everything I found is just for Christmas rush period.
So I’m rather looking for something on a temp to perm basis - or directly in transport companies (not agencies) but with no luck so far.

I’ve been warned by a friend of mine working for agency - that a lot of them can promise me a lot to convince me to go with them but after Christmas as a newbie I will be struggling to find a job.

May I ask about your experience in this matter?
Should I rather give up searching for some time if I don’t get anything within a month - and keep my non-driving job for, let’s say, march/april?

In short mate I’d keep your ear to the ground and set your start for (as you say) March/April, when things start to pick up…

And yes, be cynical about ANYTHING an agency says to you! :wink:

Go direct to haulage companies .google your local ones or within 30 miles .what,area you in ?

Unless your impatient like me haha

Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk

I got 3 job offers through facebook also ,im mulling them all over now .

What companies are hiring through Facebook lol

JaxDemon:
What companies are hiring through Facebook lol

There’s are a few groups on Facebook where some look for drivers though some agencies try to commandeer the pages

Sent from my ONE A2003 using Tapatalk

Albert1:
Go direct to haulage companies .google your local ones or within 30 miles .what,area you in ?

Lancashire (North West)

Sent from my LG-H850 using Tapatalk

Take the assignments with the agencies. Do a week, show your worth then enquire with the firm if they will take u on temp to perm. As a new driver the more/different vehicles you use the better to grow your experience.