Loading - Vehicle specific - Powder Tankers

Following a request from brit pete, I have condensed advice from a longer topic that may be of use to persons thinking of working with this type of vehicle.

brit pete:
I am no expert as i do not do it too often only when there is no one else around at our firm so my experience is not that great but I WILL SAY THIS. some loads will tip easy and flow very fast while others are completely different and harder to tip and flow very slowly,
also when raising the SILO you have to ensure that the complete vehicle is stood on firm level ground to stop the SILO from tipping over, you must also ensure that the unloading pipes are properly secured as if they become lose when unloading your load will be spread all over the area
where you are unloading.

THESE are just a few points and hopefully the SILO DRIVERS will come and put more answers on the site to help you.

Dave:
but my two pieces of advice would be, always wear safety goggles when unloading (this is compulsory) however. Some drivers I see don’t bother, but i look at like this, you only have 1 pair of eyes and the slightest leak from your pipes or couplings will see air/cement or whatever etc getting blasted into your eyes at 30 psi.
and it goes without saying, look after your equipment then you should avoid the above.
good luck.

Limey:
A nice Feldbinder or Spitzer belly ( non tipping) tank is far more preferable to an old tipping tank, I think Bells do better than CRW in this respect. Great to pull with an incredibly low centre of gravity. On the road a tank is hard to beat, its just the loading and unloading where you can come up against it.