Loading bays and other tight places

Hi Guys,
Since deciding that after nearly 20 years as a welder, I would take my Class 2 + 1 licences, I have been taking an interest in the delivery bays of my local supermarkets to size up wether I could or could not actually do the job should I happen to pass. Now, is it law that unloading bays are placed in the most awkward and dificult places that is at all possible? Is there some kind of competition between the big supermarkets to make them as awkward as possible? Now I can understand that older shops may have had better access when they were first built and have lost some of this due to new builds in the area and the associated increase in cars, but what excuse do my localTescos have? A spanking new store on the outskirts of Clacton on a new retail park, all the space in the world and the unload bay is situated so you have to either drive staight in and then back out blind onto the main road, or turn round at the near T juncion (watching the bollards)go back up the main road and then blind side into the yard. Now these are just observations from someone who is still awaiting his provisional. I welcome your thoughts - especially from anyone who has delivered to Clacton new Tescos.

thats why Tesco is top dog …its amazing how many new back doors (delivery point at shop) are a pain even on new builds…

advice

continue to watch how vehicles are positioned whern they manouvre

buy a Collins road atlas…when you spot a truck from say Pocklington look it up and decide which way you would go

also try to work out how long the journey would take
and then check your time against a route planner (allow some extra time for truck speeds)

look at the 1" conurbation maps in the back and see if you can work out the ring roads or good cross city routes

Hi and welcome to TruckNet UK Rewmer :smiley: