Licence renewal 16 wks plus..this is just getting ridiculous

A few days short of 16 weeks and still no licence or any signs on the DVLA that it is renewed

What are other drivers doing I wonder.

Fed up with phone calls and email I wrote the following to the CEO of the DVLA Will it have any effect or just offend I wonder?

julie.lennard@dvla.gov.uk

Dear Madam,

My freedom to hire a vehicle for leisure and my freedom to change jobs for the new opportunities provided by brexit are severely being held up by the inaction of the DVLA

I’m a member of the trucknet forum and I can see through that medium that there are thousands od HGV drivers like me and even worse many who cannot get any work all thanks to the DVLA

I NEED HELP please!!

I am a hgv driver who needs (due to age) to renew his licence every year. I drive long distance for the Royal Mail in a full time capacity.

My licence ran out on the 12th of September and I made my D4 application with successful medical (on 14/8/21) sent on the 16/8/21 by recorded delivery

I received confirmation of my renewal application on the 1/9/21 at 2:21pm. Since then nothing has been received at all

I have phoned (often) and get fobbed off by a message that I’m in a queue followed by a message claiming that due to covid operators are busy, please try again

Exasperated and getting close to 8 weeks in; I wrote to the DVLA on 2/11/21 to receive a reply saying there was a 6-10 week delay.

I have called many times since and still I’m being fobbed off by your phone system, I have followed your web site instructions and it just replies with the same.