LGV License Reinstatement

Good morning fellas and thanks for adding me, about 4 months ago my license was about to expire as I needed a medical, I am not currently driving for a living. I renewed my license without my vocational classes and wondered if it was just a matter of taking a medical and sending the form to DVLA. I have full CPC. TIA

picky255:
Good morning fellas and thanks for adding me, about 4 months ago my license was about to expire as I needed a medical, I am not currently driving for a living. I renewed my license without my vocational classes and wondered if it was just a matter of taking a medical and sending the form to DVLA. I have full CPC. TIA

D4 medical = job done :smiley:

As above but if it expired you’ll have to wait until you get your licence back, you’ll not be able to drive under Section 88.

Decided to renew my class 1 licence, had my medical and sent the forms back to Dvla by registered post beginning of Aug, still waiting on Dvla to process them, an absolute joke.
I sent a letter to the government Transport Dept asking when they are going to get the DVLA sorted out with this backlog, This was the reply I got today.

Dear Malcolm Carden.

HGV shortage

Thank you for your enquiry of 30 September to the Rt Hon Grant Shapps MP, at the
Department for Transport, regarding the Heavy Goods Vehicle (HGV) driver shortage and
HGV renewals.
While paper applications for driving licences are usually processed within three weeks, our
timescales have increased to between six and ten weeks. The Driver and Vehicle
Licencing Agency (DVLA) is prioritising applications for vocational driving licence, with staff
from other areas of the business being trained to process vocational applications. The
DVLA has published guidance here to give an indication of the dates of receipt for
applications currently being processed.
However, industrial action by the Public and Commercial Services Union has led to delays