Learning the ropes (and sheets)

Hi again, another complete newbie question!

For someone who comes to HGV driving with no previous experience in the haulage industry, what’s the usual way to learn about loading/unloading/roping/sheeting etc?

Do people normally do a quick course in that, separate from their HGV driving courses and CPC? I wouldn’t fancy literally having to learn on-the-job about how not to cause deaths/injuries from inept loading.

Thanks,
Womble

roping and sheeting? your boss or another driver or yard person would teach you the basics i would imagine.don’t take a load of timber or whatever out on the road without being 100% sure it’s safe,or your driving career could be over before it’s started :cry:

Go to http://www.driverco.uk/toolbox.html Scroll down the page to Skills for Haulage Information where you can select and download the DVSA 2015 (VOSA) Load Securing Rules on a PDF or the Department for Transport PDF from 1972 to 2002 (Where there is more info about traditional flatbed loads with ropes and sheets etc)

Watching this guys Youtube channel wouldn’t do you any harm either… youtube.com/channel/UCPw92Z … WhP03AUAWA

Any newbie starting for the firm I work for usually goes out with an experienced driver for a week to learn the ropes,not only securing loads but some of the thousand and one thing’s that an experienced driver would take for granted.
,we no longer have any flats but the principles are the same
Paid by the hour and take your time.

I came from outside the industry with no knowledge whatsoever. It can overwhelm you if you worry about trying to learn it all at once from the start. My suggestion would be to be aware of your limitations, know what you don’t know, but wait and deal with it when the time comes that you’ll need to know. At that point there will be someone around to teach you.