Learn the Lingo

I have been doing continental work for about 3 years now but am still struggling with the lingo of various countries, although I do understand a few phrases in french. How many of you can speak another language passably?
I am looking at learning with a linguaphone type CD but what language, french or german?
Was in Poland last week and couldn’t find anyone who spoke English, made things interesting.

the best thing to do is learn a language you are comfortable with, if you say you can grasp a few french sayings then perhaps that is the best language to begin with.
the more you try to speak it the better you will get, try reading the road side adverts and translate them back when you park up, pop to wh smith and get a cheap language cd, they cost about £7 and will help you with the very basic stuff.
don’t worry about not getting it perfect - i have found that most people appreciate the effort you have made in learning to speak their language and will forgive the broken grammar you use.
i have always wanted to speak another language fluently but i’m quite happy to be able to speak a few languages slightly.
i did italy for 5 years and learnt a little italian and some french too - as i had to drive through france to get there, i also did french at school and was pressured to take it further because my teacher said i was quite good but i didn’t because i was lazy at school and wanted an easy life, i also speak a little german too after doing germany for 4 years.
i recently went to italy on a 1 off trip and couldn’t believe how quickly i picked the language back up again, the biggest problem i found was that the italians thought i was a german because i kept slipping out german words for things that i couldn’t remember the italian for.