Laptop keeps dropping wireless connection

Hi everyone,i was hoping some of our more computer savvy members here could help me.

Well, as it says on the tin, my laptop keeps disconnecting / dropping the wireless internet link at home. It only happens on my personal laptop, my sons works ok as does the wireless connection on my iphone.
It happens whether im sitting 5 feet from the wireless router (belkin) or in a room on the other side of the house and occours every 2-5 mins. it drops the connection then I either wait quite a while for it to reconnect itself or flick the little button the activates the wireless mode to the off position then back to on again. Then it finds the link in about 10 seconds and connects automatically but disconnects again after another 2-5 mins.

Anyone got any ideas please, in plain, non computer speak,English!! :laughing: :wink:

Many thanks in advance, :wink:

Whilst I’m not a computer expert, if all the other machines are having no problem keeping connected to your home network router, my money would be on your wi-fi modem in your machine being on the blink and about to go belly-up. :frowning: :frowning: :cry:

I’d be tempted to blame the router . . . . because it’s Belkin!!!

Short version - they offer a lifetime warranty & replacement policy so wouldn’t refund me for a blatantly faulty design of router. After the third replacement (that was doing the same thing) they tested the router in their workshops (I’d said I’d pay for an independent test/assessment and the take them to the cleaners when an expert ‘proved’ what I already knew!). They came back to me saying that ‘the tests were inconclusive but as a one-off goodwill gesture’ they would refund me along with associated costs. Me thinks they found the problem I was pointing out but couldn’t/wouldn’t lose face. Strange then, how a week or so later, all of the same routers were removed from Media Markt (and I’m sure, other retailers) never to be seen again.