Kiwi on a holiday visa

Hows it going? Truckers
Im after alot of advice, the ■■■■■■■■ furry magnet has sucked me in!!
My working visa has been approved. I can work for a year in the UK
I’ll be moving from NZ to Portsmouth to be with my gal Lily in May, Im 29
I have been driving trucks for 9 yrs, Big rigs for 3 1/2 years, flat decks, artics, truck and trailers, tippers, forklifts, loaders My current mount is a DAF430CF.

Whats the best way to get the best job I can?
As Im only able to work for up to year Is are there any good temp agency’s
around Portsmouth?
Will a company employ me if I only have an international licence?
I ve only ever got jobs thru word of mouth so applying with CVs and talking myself up is going to hard. I know my way around trucks and Im reliable so I think I have something to offer a good operator

Any one wanting advice on kiwi land Im more than happy to help out.
I bet you guys like forgeiners looking for jobs about as much as we do. LOL
Any advice is will be much appreciated! thanks heaps
Shane (alderson.co.nz)

Is Patrick White still on the go?

He has employed more kiwis than anyone but forget seeing the UK :stuck_out_tongue:

Im not planning on seeing the UK. Im planning to be parked on the m25 by the looks of things Searching for patrick white now, That poor SV looks like its seen better days

Word of caution. Unless things have changed, your New Zealand HGV licence may not be valid in the UK.

Some years ago when i worked in recruitment I had this situation with a Kiwi guy who’d relocated to the UK; even got my local MP involved as his office was on the next floor, he checked it out and all the guy could drive was 7.5 tonners despite him having had his own rig in NZ.

The stupid thing is that we can now legally employ drivers who cannot speak English, have never driven on the left and furthermore have never driven a RHD truck, but cannot allow a guy who fulfils all three criteria to do so.

God bless the European Union! :angry: