Just passed class 2 advice saught

Hi all, happy newbie here, passed my class 2 with 4 minors on thursday. I used WJ Driver Training academy in Stoke, highly recommend them for anyone in the stoke/stafford/cheshire area

While I wait for my License, CPC card and DIGI card, could anyone recommend a good sat nav at a reasonable price? (It took me 2 years to save up for my class 2 training so money is quite tight)

Also, I was advised by my instructor to try and avoid multi drop jobs if possible, however looking at jobs in my area most places that will accept new drivers are exactly this type of job. Is there certain multi drop companies (ie, bakers/food distributors/vehicle parts) that are better than others? I’m happy to pay my due and work the crappy jobs, but I would prefer my first job not to be too crappy.

Would you recommend signing up to an agency? going self employed has been advised to me too, would this be too much hassle for a new starter?

Summary;

Sat Nav advice: cheap but good quality
Type of company to avoid
Agency good or bad
Self employed or wait until experienced

thanks for reading

:smiley: :smiley:

Firstly well done
secondly go direct to a firm and ask for job and if you have to go Agency PAYE or not at all
Don’t go self employed yet till 1, you’ve got experience 2. you’ve got some money in bank

Sat nav advice? Copilot truck and google maps. Agencies? Depends how desperate you are for work, I would stay paye, Ltd is more trouble than it’s worth.

General advice: go for class 1 if funds allow. Rigid work is 95% multi drop and multi drop is w@nk. That being said, I got a gig for a few days on rigid last week working for a local steel merchant (yes rog, it was) doing nationwide deliveries (4 or 5 drops a day) but jobs like that are few and far between. It’s more likely you will get sent on parcel or pallet work doing 40+ drops a day. Believe me, it’s not fun :imp:

Congrats on the pass! May the force be with you :sunglasses: