Just get me home

Im a truck mechanic and was wondering/

You been out all week and its Friday night and your 60 mile from home.
You have a good pub to go to,kids to see or a promise on.
Bang something goes belly up and you break down.You sit 3 hours waiting for some bloody van,the man arrives fixes the problem in 5 minutes but your now stuck there 9 hours.

the pubs shut the kids are in bed and the promise is out the window.

What bits of kit would you carry in your pocket so you could put it right yourself.
(with a little bit of coaching from your repair staff) to get you home.

Like to hear your suggestions

Not altogether altruistic as I like my Friday nights in the pub and hate missing it for a 3 hour drive for bugger all.

give you my list later.

A fur glove because the truck can / is fixed
but a promise is another thing that might not
happen again for a long time .

quirky

quirkyjohn:
A fur glove because the truck can / is fixed
but a promise is another thing that might not
happen again for a long time .

quirky

Would prefer the velvet cup meself dear boy!!

Just an old-fashioned tacho card so I could get a lift home. S*d the lorry, it’ll wait for another day!

My usual steed has a good toolkit in her. Bulbs, fuses, terminals, jubillee clips, cable ties, random nuts bolts and screws,a few random pieces of pipe/tube, a few of the air line push connector thingys, spare primary elecy suzy, spare airline, spray grease, wd40. :smiley:

Ironically the old girl never gives me any grief. It’s helped many a brit abroad, a dutchman and a turk to get somewhere though :laughing: :laughing: :laughing: :laughing:

ETA: a fuel filter too (old habits :wink: )
E2TA: Insulation and gaffer tape

Cable ties - if it can’t be fixed with a cable tie then it can wait for the mechanic.

Santa:
Cable ties - if it can’t be fixed with a cable tie then it can wait for the mechanic.

+1