Job Offer - Advice

Hi guys, looking for a bit of advice as a newbie in the industry from the more experienced boys on here… now before I start I completely get that only I can make the decision and it’s all personal decisions/preferences.

I had my driving assessment in Bellshill you might remember the forum I did about that on what to expect - the assessment drive went well but they did acknowledge the fact I am a complete novice but still did a good confident drive.

They don’t feel comfortable with me running into Europe from Bellshill at the moment which is understandable but they want me to work in Ireland and gain experience with a view of being brought back to Bellshill once I gain more experience.

I’ve been told that I will be out for the week sometimes a fortnight and I will be earning £650 a week after tax.

Now I am in a comfy job the now earning £459 after tax and I’m only doing about 35 hours a week driving buses. I do have an itch to go on the lorries and eventually get into Europe which has been my goal as a young driver at 23.

Where the dilemma comes in… the job I currently do is what’s regarded to some as ‘dead mans shoes’ therefore it’s a big Decision.

I feel like if I don’t take this job then I’ll never really move on something I’ve always fancied doing but the same token I do have a solid job the now which I don’t mind and pays v. Decent.

Any thoughts?

Cheers!

For that £650 you’ll be working 70 hours a week so bear that in mind.

If you’ve got an itch to scratch, go scratch it. Money isn’t everything.

I presume you will be maxing out your hours for the £650 per week and if that includes n/o money, i would stay on the buses but at the end of the day , its your choice.
Good luck either way.

You’re taking home £459 for a 35 hour week driving a bus?
Bloody stop where you are mate, if you leave and tell the lads here where it is for goodness sake keep out of the way of the stampede to your bosses door 20 minutes later.

CPCxx: