Is there still a driver shortage?

Hi all

I’ve been loitering around here for a couple of years but only just got round to registering.

In short - I’m struggling with the jobs market atm. I passed my car to class 1 a few weeks ago but am really struggling to find any roles out there. I mean, obviously I wasn’t expecting to walk into a role straight from the test centre but I guess I did think the “crippling driver shortage” that everyone is constantly talking about would play in my favour and justify me sinking my life savings into getting my licence!

But… yeah. I’m beginning to despair a little at the state of the jobs market. There seems to be jobs out there but 99% plus wont touch you unless you have 6-12 months experience (I wont get into the paradox of that as its probably be done to death!). Nonetheless I have applied for literally everything that is even slightly plausible! If it just says 6 months experience preferred - then I’m going for it! I’m going for even the grimmest of jobs - even stuff requiring a 100 mile commute for questionable money to try and get a foothold in the industry.

I’ve sent my CV off to every haulage company within about 120 miles of my house, I’ve followed up with emails and often phone calls.

I’ve applied on every job portal there is - today I checked and I’ve applied for 76 jobs in the last month. And I’m applying for everything - Class 1 / Class 2 / deliveroo (well maybe not quite that far but you get my point!)

What is worrying me though is three specific things: