Is 7.5t Valuable Experience?

right, some of you may have read that I passed my Class C the other week… and jolly nice it was too.

I was put forward through my company (although they didnt pay for the retests) I am now tied to them for a year, as they put up the capital for my training, if I want to leave before this time, then I have to pay the amount back in full. It’s not an issue as I would find the money if it came to the crunch.

The company runs LWB sprinters for central city bashing, and both 5 tonne and 7.5 tonne box lorries for the out of towners, and for some of the larger hotels, that take wheeled cages. They put me through the test as I am a cover driver so needed to be able to drive any vehicle in the fleet. I cover for any driver that is on holiday, off sick or doesnt show up, bit of a pain as you never know where you are day to day, but its not too bad.

Now i was wondering, if driving a 7.5t is considered valuable experience to those companies recruiting for class C positions (to all intents and purposes, would potential employers need to know what exact vehicles I was driving, or could you just say “up to 18t” or something), or if its just a waste of time, and I should think about applying for class C positions right away.

I enjoy my work far more while it is challenging, and driving the bigger vehicles…particularly in central london, provides the most challenge. I don’t particularly want to drive 7.5t forever, particularly if there is more money in the bigger classes.

However, the money is reasonable, but its a fixed 40 hour week, no overtime, regardless of time spent working (there is a commision scheme to compensate slightly for lost hours, but most of the regular route drivers dont get anywhere near 40 hours if they can help it). It’s a nice company to work for, and they give you opportunities for extra training, I may be able to get my CPC Road Haulage through them also.