Intro + drag question

Hi chaps,

I’ve been driving for about 2 years, mainly Cat C with occasional C+E.

I’m not the greatest at reversing the artics but am reasonably confident and always get there in the end.

I’ve packed in my full time job (crap company) and have just accepted a 6 week contract through an agency. Although they are aware that I have never driven drag, they say they are happy for me to start the contract from 2nd June.

I’ll obviously have to be shown how to hitch up by the employer, but I would appreciate any specific advice regarding driving drag and any safety issues that differ from general C+E work.

Boring topic, sorry - but it’s got me pretty nervous considering I’ve never driven or been trained to pull drag. For what I’ve been told at least, it’s an 18 tonner with trailer.

Thanks,
Paul.

A frame or close coupled (caravan) ■■?

they follow differently than an artic trailer , and will probably be longer !! close coupled is similar an artic to reverse - A frames are completely different !

If they’re going to show you how to hitch up ask them any questions you can think of while they’re doing it :wink:

Good Luck

prichardson:
I’ll obviously have to be shown how to hitch up by the employer

you may find yourself turning up on a cold morning, only to be given the keys and paperwork by the guy in security …and off you go…no demo, or being shown how to do it.

welcome to the world of the agy driver

Btw, welcome to TN
I`ll have a litre of voddie, 2ltrs of diet pepsi, a couple of lemons, and a bucket of ice… Ta

prichardson:
Intro + drag question

■■■■, i though there was another cross dresser joining the forum :unamused:

For close cpled trailers the trick when cpling is to have left the trailer in a good place.before taking it off. Make sure you have enough room to reverse back to the tailer when cpling because you will need to be completely inline to have a chance to catch the trailer eye in the cpling.