Insurance

Got a question about insurance.

I am a newly passed driver and to gain experience ive signed up to several driving agencies.

I am under 25 and so alot of work i simply am not insured for.

I agreed to do some work for an agency, and then last thing the night before the agency phonned me up and said that i couldn’t do it because i was under 25.

If this were to happen again but the agency didn’t tell me in time what would happen to me if the worst happened ?

Every company that i have worked for has taken a photo copy of my driving licence, and i hope have seen and noted my age - is it worth me asking every new company about their insurance?

Anybody else had any experiences of this ?

If you turn up at a company and they won’t let you work because of your age/experience, bill your agency for the standard shift, usualy 8 hours.
I thing it would be fairly unusual for a company to actualy turn away a driver when they need one.

I would say it was counter productive for you to be asking companies about their insurance. The agency which sends you into a company should be covering that bit, its one of the things you pay them for.
When an agency supplies a driver, they usualy charge them about double what they pay you, so you are paying them.

Cheers simon, you make a good point about it being counter productive and i agree it is the agencies responsibility.

I’m wondering more about if i wasn’t insured, and something happened, i.e. i hit a lamp post or bumped a car, and then i was found not to be insured, what would happen ?

would it work like cars ? - i.e. is the insurance on the truck is my responsibility [i don’t mean picking up the bill] ?, would i get fined, get points on my licence ? and with the points on my licence then automaticly loose my licence [because i have had it under 3 years] ? - or would it come down to because i’m an agency driver would i be cleared of things and it come down on the agency ?