In the nick of time ...maybe!

Hi

I am another newbie here. Hi everyone.
I have fallen for the ‘too good to be true’ scam of the big LGV training outfits.

I just paid £199 deposit to STERLING in Basildon for their all in C - C+E - CPC and ADR course.

Reading the posts here ( Just came accross the forum today) I am realising that I have made a classic error.

If I cancel I will lose my deposit - I am thinking that it maybe cheaper in the long run.

Any advice on other training outfits in south Essex would be gratefully recieved.

Matty :frowning:

The company I used was excellent, it was Chelmer Valley Driver Training. However they seem to have disappeared although his unit and trailer are still parked at the same place now branded as truk skool :unamused:

If it’s the same people behind it (which I’m sure it is) you could do a whole lot worse.

Someone I know has just done his class 2 with Hyway one and was quite pleased with the outcome.

Qualitas also feature quite a bit around here but they are part of / same as Sterling.

Ring these various people up, have a chat and ask what you actually get for your money. Whoever you use it’s going to be a fair slice of cash, a cheapish course might not be so cheap if you need a couple of retests. A slightly more expensive course might give you a lot more training.

Some companies will offer 1:1 training some 2:1 I trained most of the time 2:1 and found it better than the 1:1 sessions. Everyone has there own opinion on it, but don’t neccessarily rule it out thinking it to be a lesser choice. You can learn a lot from watching another trainee,

I seem to recall my instructor thinking that Crowlands were OK, but I don’t know of anyone who has trained with them.

I heard mixed reports on Stevand but I think they have disappeared now.

Welcome MattyGB :smiley: :smiley: :smiley:
Try this for some pre training tips trucknetuk.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=23857