Ice on the road?

Last night on a few (dozen) occasions I had my truck go a bit … wobbly. At first I thought it was an uneven road surface but I’ve been up and down that road quite a few times and don’t remember it being so bad before. I looked at the trees but there was no wind either. Then I realized it’s most likely ice as it was only +2 degrees and there were patches of fog. I’ve been driving for 2 years but never had a truck behave in such way. Tyres were good, excellent even - the truck has only about 15 000 miles from new, the ones on the trailer were very good too. Middle axle was down for ‘‘optimal traction’’ according to the computer, I didn’t see the anti-skid system activate at any point (yellow flashing light). I should mention I was empty and in a Renault which I’ve noticed (on previous occasions) is very susceptible to even a light side wind causing me to wrestle with the steering wheel to keep it straight.

I dropped my speed to 50mph so I could better react to these rather violent wobbles but other trucks seemed unaffected and kept going at their max speed. At one point I got seriously scared on the A42 I literally felt the truck slide for a second and that was with the trailer loaded. All in all a very stressful drive. Sudden gusts of wind? Ice? Or just the way the Reanault is designed? It’s only the 2nd time I’ve driven this truck (70 plate).

I’ve driven in all sorts of weather including snow fall with snow covered roads etc. (admittedly rigids not artic) never had this happen before. Are artics more susceptible to sliding/wobbling I guess is my final question

Few thoughts.

Mid lift should be up in empty or lightly loaded conditions, by running with the mid lift down you are reducing the already low 4ish tons on the drive axle by probably a ton.