I want to be…

I will appreciate it if someone can give me some guidance and advise.

I’m considering a “major” career change. I’m currently an IT consultant and the contract I’ve been working on for the past 17 years is nearing its end. Considering my age and the current IT ”climate” finding another job in my current line of work is going to be challenging. I’m not too concerned about the “drop in salary” but do need some sort of secure income and job satisfaction for the years to come.

I’ve had a long term interest in HGVs and long distance haulage. My dream is to own/operate my own HGV. What are my options?

I would have thought that an option will be to hire my services out to companies, using “my own HGV tractor unit” to pull their articulated trailers from one location to another. I spent some time Googling the concept but was unable to find anything in this regards. Is this an existing practice in the UK?

A further question on HGV licensing - I have noticed training centres advertising that a category C&E license can be obtained within 3 weeks. Is that a reality or just sales talk.

How difficulties it to secure a job. From what I can derive from various searches is that there is an abundance of skilled/experienced drivers and that it is quite difficult for a “new” river to find a job.

And lastly — how do you get across the 2 year experience hurdle. It seems to be a common requirement with all jobs advertised.

P.S. I will not be surprised if some of the responses are going to be “…find something else to do…” Certainly hope there are going to be some positive responses as well.

Eagerly awaiting your response.

Regards

Will

Hi Will

Time for a reality check… Owning a HGV Truck and all that does with it, is way down the road for you along with a ton of money for equipment, premises, insurances, DCPC’s, Operators licences, fuel allowances, running costs…hope you got deep pockets…