I,m looking for a career change and need advice

I currently work in retail and looking to have a complete change of career! I’ve been offered an interview with a company and sounds very promising! I have no experience but am very loyal and love a new challenge! What are the pro’s and cons of driving? What do I need to succeed? Can anyone help me with what I need know before my interview? Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Difficult to answer the question without launching into an essay.

Briefly, the cons are:

Long hours
Working alone
Often spoken “down” to
Disrespected by much of the motoring public
Pay can be poor
Industry where the driver attracts fines for repeated mistakes

The upside is:

Money can be good - if you get the right job
A sense of freedom - though you’ll probably be subject to telematics
Working along - if that’s what you like
Seeing new places
The enjoyment of driving a truck - for some of us, this doesn’t wear off

You’re going for an interview and obviously have little or no industry knowledge. I suggest you work hard to get the point over that you’re keen to learn, not afraid of the graft and that you want to make a career out of driving.

Good luck with it, Pete :laughing: :laughing:

Thanks Pete, great advice

From what I can tell from your post, you know very little about the industry and have yet to acquire a license?

The pros and cons are very subjective, it’s varies depending on the type of work you do and for which company you do it for.
For instance I currently work in bulk haulage, away from home 4-5 nights a week and love it. Whereas another driver would much rather be home every night and work regular hours, for example builders merchant deliveries.

So unless you already know what part of the industry you fancy, unfortunately the answer is how long is a piece of string?

Good luck buddy, any questions are always welcome on here