How strange is this

Hi all , well a strange thing happened this evening, I was travelling as passenger in a car for about 2 hours & suddenly became very travel sick, so much so to the point of almost throwing up !! :open_mouth: :open_mouth:
Now, as a driver, & been driving for years, I certainly would never had expected that !!

Has anyone else ever had that (travel sickness) to suddenly happen ?

Travel sickness never happens when you are actually driving because your eyes are in sync with the surroundings but it is very common in passengers who aren’t looking at the road.

I’ve been driving HGVs for nearly 40 years, and it’s not unknown for me to feel travel-sick as a passenger. I’m fine if I’m driving, or I’ve got something to occupy my mind, but if I’m just sat there…

No.

2 questions:

1. Were you sitting in the back?

2. Were there any unusual smells like a fuel leak, fuel vapour, exhaust leak, etc?

As a child I suffered travel sickness in both cars and coaches but never in my dads lorry. In the lorry I could always see ahead.
Then in the early nineties I suffered motion sickness after a very long hard week of driving, may have had some short daily rests and driven over my hours this was pre limiter days and we would have the clog hard to the floor all day. :grimacing:

trucken:
I’ve been driving HGVs for nearly 40 years, and it’s not unknown for me to feel travel-sick as a passenger. I’m fine if I’m driving, or I’ve got something to occupy my mind, but if I’m just sat there…

Hi trucken, I have never been travel si know before , & really found the experience quite a horrible & shocking feeling :blush: :frowning: I did try to occupy myself but to no avail :neutral_face:

Driveroneuk:
No.

2 questions:

1. Were you sitting in the back?

2. Were there any unusual smells like a fuel leak, fuel vapour, exhaust leak, etc?

Hi driveroneuk,
Yes, I was sitting in the back jammed I the middle
No, there were no horrible or unusual smells

Wrinkly: