How long have you been driving, what do you remember?

I’m 45years old this year and have to have a medical in a few months to retain my licences. I drove 7.5tonners when I was 18 and passed my class 1 at the age of 21, working class 3’s for a year and was lucky enough to get on the artics at the age of 22,couldn’t get enough of it… :smiley: I always listened and looked up to the older lads when I was a younger inexperienced driver. They’d be there to help you out in any situation and over those year I’ve made some really good mates.

24 years later and I wonder where that time has gone. I’m the 3rd generation in this job, I’d travel with my dad as a kid in Fodens and ERF’s and loved it, couldn’t wait to get that licence despite my old dad trying to convince me otherwise …lol.

I’ve seen a few changes and noticed however that despite my age there doesn’t seem to be many younger people coming into the industry (…and I can’t say I’d blame them ) and I wonder how things will turn out… I don’t know if the comradery has gone or whether it’s me begining to get tired of the job…

I’ve been lucky to have worked on so many aspects of transport, distance/ international work, tankers, tilts, containers, fridges, cutainsiders and low-loaders. I’ve loved it and absolutely hated the job at times, it cost me my marriage but in all honesty I couldn’t see myself doing anything else, maybe I’m just getting too old. :laughing: .

But I just wondered how long everyone else out there has been out on the road ■■? How old were you when you got your ticket, how did you feel and do you still enjoy the job ■■?

Started driving 7.5 in 1971. Did class 3 (rigid 4 wheeler) in 1975. Wish had done something else :unamused: Now on Class 1(sorry LGV C+ E) Love the driving. But thats about it. What else can I do except Retire soon :smiley: