How is tramping pay usually worked out?

Hi everyone.
Being new here, I’m looking for my first trucking job which is not easy. Call me difficult, but I don’t want to work for an agency if I can help it because all the agencies I’ve gone to so far have been total [zb]'s. How can they specify 2 years checkable experience with moffat, flt and hiab cert etc, and offer 8n quid an hour. ■■? One company told me that the pay isn’t all that, but you make up your money by falsifying the mileage to and from work on your expenses forms. Another interview seamed to be going ok until he asked what I was doing for work at the moment. When I told him I was a bus driver the reply was ‘we wouldn’t take on a bus driver, they’re too argumentative’ which probably translates to ‘they won’t risk life and lisence to line our pockets for us.’ I don’t know.

Anyway. Being where I am, I’m going to have to take a pay and conditions cut if I want to get into lorry driving, which I can live with until I have the experience to go for ADR and try and get on tankers or something a bit better. I’m considering selling my soul to Stobarts but I’m also hearing some really bad things about the pay.

Moving on, my question is this. How is tramping pay worked out in general? Do you get paid for the hours you are at work, or just actually working i.e. driving? How much can I expect for spending nights camped in a lorry? Do I have to make my own way back if I get stranded out of hours? Anything from the oracles of knowledge on this site woud be great.

Cheers, Dan.
its always better to be late than the late.

I’m considering selling my soul to Stobarts but I’m also hearing some really bad things about the pay.