Hoover Dam

Hello all Stateside Truckers. I am a trucker in the UK. Can you tell me if its true, that trucks have been banned form crossing the Hoover Dam. I visited the South West States back in 96, and particularly remember Trucks crossing it then. Thought it strange, that’s all. Have even got photos of your Trucks crossing the Hoover Dam.
Cheers Steve

Yes, they have. It’s quite a problem for drivers heading from Las Vegas to Kingman and Phoenix. You now have to go down to Laughlin and cross there.

:slight_smile: Thanks Alex, that’s a shame. Any idea why they banned them ?

One word mate, paranoia. They got worried that some foreign nutter would explode a truck full of something on the dam and bust it open. A lot of Dams here are now no truck zones.

Hey DAF, I’m a tanker driver in Phoenix and go to Las Vegas at least once a month, and I also go there to play regularly, actually just got back on Friday last week.

As for the Hoover Dam, yes, it is closed to commercial trucks…but, that does not apply to the trucks that are involved in the construction of the freeway overpass, a freeway over the Hoover Dam is coming, and for us truckers here, it is a god send. The days of having to go by Laughlin and adding an extra 60-70miles on a round trip will be gone. Probably will take them a few more years till it is complete, but it is well on its way.

It truly is a spectacular sight, but, once you’ve seen it, thats it. The traffic gets worse on it, everytimme I go over it. THey still allow huge Rv’s and boats and cars hauling other types of trailers, but on both sides of the ArizonaNevada border are police checkpoints that pull over anything that isnt a car.

Coming out of Vegas a year or so back, it took me almost three hours to get from Boulder City to the Arizona side of the border… :open_mouth: :open_mouth: :open_mouth: :open_mouth: a distance of some 10-15miles :open_mouth: :open_mouth: :open_mouth: :open_mouth: :open_mouth: .