Hints and Tips provided by TruckNetUK Contributors

Many months ago we had a thread entitled “Hints and Tips for New Drivers”.

I have taken a number of posts from that, and other topics to consolidate them here in no particular order.

This thread will be updated as I identify useful material.

Whenever I go to a new site for the first time I always ask for the ‘Idiot’s Guide’ as I’ve never been there before. Also if any instructions or directions are unclear I ask again. All this is done with a smile on my face.

Never never ever arrive at a site with a negative attitude. Nothing is easier to pick up and it’s surprising how people react to such an attitude.
Above all as has been said above ASK
Good Luck
Ted

OK, here’s my little contribution.

Some hints on reversing

The most difficult part of being an articulated lorry driver is reversing. Reversing is “the skill, the art, the craft”.
It’s what we are paid for!

It does take some practice. I’ve been practising for 16 years, and I’m starting to get the hang of it now :smiley::D:D

Firstly (easy one, this) make sure your mirrors are crystal-clean. And your near-side window. Kitchen-towel, bit of Fairy Liquid, bit of water works wonders.

The most important part of a reversing manoeuvre comes before you select reverse gear. Think about what you are going to do, and how best do it. Don’t charge forward, thinking “I’ll see where I end up and take it from there”. Have your whole move planned in advance.

For example, what’s the point of doing a difficult blind-side reverse when there’s a roundabout 100 yards up the road? Go, turn round and do it on your good side.

In your first manoeuvre, make sure you get a good “kink” on your truck. If you aren’t kinked the right way, then you ain’t going nowhere!

Take it slowly, get out and look if you aren’t 100% sure. Ask another driver to watch you back. No-one will mind. On the contrary, any driver will be pleased to help.