Hi all, Newbie here

HI everyone. I’m new to the site and this is my first ever post.

My name is Andreas and I’m 27 years old and I’ve finally decided that I want to get a HGV licence.

So where do I start… I’m currently working for Slater and Gordon, the huge Law firm in Watford. I work full time, 5 days a week, shift work.

I’m at a computer all day every day dealing with customers, and to be fair, it’s becoming tiresome and I’m getting quite depressed being there. I’ve worked there for 8 years+ and I want to try my hand at something new.

I’m someone who really craves being independent and having my own goals/tasks and meeting them myself. I’m not too keen on working in a team, so I’ve become interested in jobs such as Taxi driving/HGV driving. A job where I have to drive from point A to point B and it’s on ME if I get the job done.

I really don’t know where to start with when it comes to HGV and learning the different types of vehicles and licences. Currently I have a Full UK Automatic licence and I would really really like to one day work for a company driving a HGV. I’ve driven for over 5 years and I’d say I was a pretty good driver, not world renowned, but I could hold my own against Schumacher any day of the week :wink:

The thought of travelling from London to Scotland with load in my truck really does excite me (Honestly) Not having to deal with a manager in your ear every 30 seconds telling me to do this or do that… “why aren’t you hitting target”. I’m a very anti social person and a job where I’m in control a bit more is what I desire. I want to have the responsibility of waking up at 4am, getting to work by 5am, loading a truck, setting off, and just driving for 5-8 hours. The thought of it excites me, I WAS BORN FOR THIS.

When I told my other half she said “Come off it, who wants to drive for 6 hours straight?” Me that’s who.