HGV licence advice

Hi all,

I am not a professional trucker driver, nor am I likely to be, but I do have a need to drive a large vehicle for pleasure. I have a 10T Leyland DAF 45-150 with a horsebox body and would like to be able to drive it! I gather I’m going to need an LGV licence but have a couple of questions:

1. If I get the provisional LGV licence added to my car.bike licence, can I now drive the truck if a qualified person is with me? If so, I guess I’d need to display ‘L’ plates? Could I use motorways?

2. As it’s a leisure activity and no reward will be sought for the truck’s use, I understand I don’t need an O-licence or need to use the tacho?

Cheers!

Hi and welcome to TruckNet UK weasley :smiley: .
I am only guessing but I think you would
need someone with a lgv licence with you
and L plates on. I got told you can go down
the motorway as you are legally allowed to
use the motorway as you have a full car licence.
As for question 2 I don’t know.

Welcome Weasley. Convoy is correct when he says you are allowed on the motorway, as learner LGV drivers are. The qualified driver who accompanies you must have held his licence for three years and you do of course need L plates. I believe an O licence is only needed for the carrying of goods for commercial reasons so you may well be exempt (not 100% sure).

Just to add, as it’s a 10t vehicle would it be possible to get it replated to 7.5t? I’m sure the driving school I used did this on their cat. C1 training vehicle.

Down-rating to 7.5t is possible but doing this would leave us with a truck with not enough plated capacity to carry the 4 horses it is built for.

Anyway, I’ve always wanted to get an HGV licence, now I have an excuse!

Thanks for the responses on the other q’s. :smiley:

You should be ok without an "O"License as long as you don’t carry anyone elses horses for reward, But might be worth checking with your area traffic commisioner.