HGV Apprenticeships in Shropshire?

Hey everyone, this is my first post so I just hope that I got the right area for it !

I am currently in my last year in college aiming to persue a career in HGV driving (hopefully refrigerated - that’s what I’m most used to but as long as it’s a wagon I’m happy) and am starting to look around for HGV Apprenticeships, trying to get on the Young Drivers Scheme and passed before my 19th.

I did have an apprenticeship lined up, everything was sorted and then sh…omething hit the fan and it’s all fallen through. After ringing a dozen companies in Shropshire I’ve heard that the only company that they know of offering apprenticeships is the one I was supposed to go with.

I’m really running short of ideas and time to sort it out, so I’m asking members on the forum if they know about any companies in Shropshire (or as close to Shropshire as possible) that do apprenticeships ? Or if there is a way of getting an apprenticeship which offers me a placement on the Young Drivers Scheme ?

Unfortunately, I’ve been planning a HGV career since… well, the womb really, so I’ve got nothing to fall back on right now.

If anyone has any words of advice (other than give up the plan, I’ve heard that too many times but am to stubborn to pay attention to it) then I would be very grateful.

Many thanks,

ShropshireLadJr

1. Take any job you can get.

2. Save your pennies.

3. Take your saved pennies to a recommended LGV training company.

4. Pass your test.

5. Apply for LGV driving job but don’t expect too much as most companies will say you have no experience/you’re too young etc.

6. Don’t give up the other job.

7. You really should listen to your elders and betters for once. Try it. It might just save you from a world of pain!

Thanks for the reply, and the steps you’ve suggested seem like the best choice at the moment.