Help please! C E Training

Hello Everyone,

I am a bus driver and i am looking into getting my HGV Licence ( C E ).

I have passed the theory, hazard and cpc.

I am looking at getting training and the law changed in my favour i would say, i can go straight to C E without having to own C first.

I called a training company and i am not entirely sure if they are being honest or they are just trying to get more money, they said that i need to have training on a class 2 before i can train on a class 1, now i know that i dont have to pass C in order to get C E but training on class 2 before i can go to class 1 seems a bit stupid and they wanna charge 1.3k plus vat just for training on class 2 and then another 1.3k plus vat for class 1.

I honestly thought that i can go straight to class 1.

Can anyone that knows more explain please ? are they being honest or they are trying to get more money.

Thanks

In terms of exams, you can go straight to class 1, however most training providers still insist on giving some class 2 training. There are a couple of reasons for this, the main one being that it allows the learner to more gradually acclimatise to driving larger vehicles, but also allows them to learn how to maneuver class 2 vehicles in case they end up doing class 2 work once they have passed their test.

Since you already have a PCV licence, especially if you’ve been using it, you should already be able to handle a class 2 as there isn’t a massive difference between the two. When speaking to training providers tell them that you already have a PCV licence so would rather have more time dedicated to class 1 learning. They will still stick you in a rigid for a bit, but hopefully not as long provided you show them you can drive it safely

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk

Terry Cooksey: