Help and Advice please?

Hello,

I have had a HGV 3 since 1977 and a PSV since 1979. From 1979 to 1992 I did bus service and then drove coaches all over Europe doing shuttles to Spain and Italy as well as tours Paris, Amsterdam, Black Forrest, Metz, Reims etc. I was a manager of 3 drivers and lived in Lyon for 5 years so loads of experience.

OK so in 1992 I did a HND then Degree in IT and embarked on that career. My licences needed a medical when I was 45 in 2003 but thinking I would never do that job again did not bother. Now I want to drive HGV 2 and my medical is booked for the 22nd May. I thought I would do the D2 & D4 then get my HIAB, Moffett, CPC to make me more competitive for jobs but to my horror no one will employ you at agencies unless you have at least 6months experience in the last 2 years! So I might as well do my C+E as well but at 55 am I just flogging a dead horse? Who in their right mind would employ me?

Appreciate any thoughts

Just a thought and only an opinion (unqualified).

Are you able to prove your qualifications previous to your renewed licence.

Ie do you still have the old PSV / HGV book licences.

That would get you round the perceived newbie status. (I would have thought).

My crystal ball is not working as quick today for some reason.

But I can see you’ll get a good price off a well known supermarket for that dead horse!

Personally I wouldn’t bother with C+E. You’ve got cat C (class 2) so why not make that earn some money. By the time you’ve paid for DCPC, DIGI card, HIAB etc, that will set you back a fair few bucks. Maybe worth doing a refresher course to get back into the swing of driving a truck again.

I was in a similar position to you last year. Did my C+E and passed first time but landed up with a cat C (class 2) driving job.

BUT, it’s your money and you do what you feel is right. Just be aware though, that things have changed a hell of a lot from the days of class 3!

dar1976: