Help!advice needed

hi all,i’m jools from worthing in sussex.i’m a part time agency driver and french polisher.i passed my class 1 in may last year in the hope that i would get some regular class 1 work,but it hasn’t happened.long story short,i’ve got a test drive with philson haulage and need advice on fridges if anyone can help.
great site with lots of good advice.
jools

The short answer with fridges is that you need to know about ‘split coupling’ and ‘cranked coupling’ and how the shunt valve works and when to use it.

Just make sure your email addy is correctly set in your profile and I’ll send you a some information on the first two. Use the search facility for the third.

Operationally, just ensure that the temperature/temperatures are correctly set, some have split compartments and I’ve known occasions when the load plan has been different to the way in which it has been loaded. Check within the first hour of a journey that the fridge is still running and holding temperature. I say the first hour because it is then not too far away to come back and tranship to another trailer.

If you stop anywhere, and go out of sight of the vehicle, on returning, check the fridge setting, as it is not unknown for someone to have changed it. :wink:

Before arriving at premises, again check the temperature. Once you go through the gate, if it is wrong, it’s too late. At least outside the premises, regardless of how close, there is the opportunity of getting a fitter out to you.

Whilst there are a variety of fridge variations, they generally operate in a similar manner. Somewhere on her are a list of ‘fault codes’. Something that you might wish to print off but not always necessary.