Hello!

Hi everybody.

Having driven Buses in around the Sunderland area for 3 years (Another story)
I decided to invest in retraining and moving on to HGV.

Got my C in August 06 and my CE in November.

Now working for FREIGHTROUTE based in County Durham on rigids.

Have just been put through my ADR by employer.

Am absolutely loving it by the way, BUT…

Having passed my CE and only getting the opportunity to drive our ONLY Artic once in a blue moon I am getting a tad frustrated.

I keep getting promised that the 2nd Artic job that comes to the depot will be mine but my feet are getting itchy as it just looks like it aint gonna happen and I have been thinking about looking elsewhere…

Given that I’m only new to the game relatively speaking, I was wondering if anyone had any advice for me? Should I stay patient, learn as much as I can, or choose the quick and easy path, and jump from job to job getting experience that way? (Doesn’t look that good on a CV that though.)

Personally, I suspect the former is the sensible course of action, and it’s likely that that will be the way that I go I guess, but I’d be interested to read of anyone elses experiences?

One day I’d like to become an owner driver and there’s another thing that’s got me thinkiing.

I know I need my CPC (I already have medium size yard in Hartlepool with a friend) but I don’t know what I should be hauling, should I just have a unit and go to places and haul THEIR trailers or get my own?

Quite a large rambling first post to make I know, but thank’s for your patience!!

Much to learn, I still have!

Great site, have read a lot of posts over the last week. (Mods I aplogise if I am off topic or posting in wrong forum- I run my own forum- nothing to do with trcking- and I know how annoying it can be if peeps post off top.)

Andy.

Welcome Matchbox. :wink: