Hello

I am new to trucking but not to internet forums and it almost feels impolite to start a new forum and not introduce myself… but yet I don’t see any “new members introduce yourself” type forum on here and I guess this is as close as it gets so … hello.

I was a taxi driver for years until the lockdowns put me out of business and made it a gamble to consider doing it again if the government can just kill of businesses in one fell swoop at any time it pleases so I thought that driving a truck would at least have the secure backing of 65 million starving peasants about to burn down parliament if the government decided to shut down that particular industry at a whim.

I only drive a dinky 7.5 tonne truck but I am looking to upgrade to Class 1 if I can get my head around things which is easier said and done given the views of the people who run the CPC courses and what my actual experience of working as a trucker is. I am interested in all aspects of haulage from the business side making a profit with an operators licence to just driving about taking people’s stuff to where they want it to be but all I know about so far is that a 7.5 tonne truck is more like a oversized transit van than an actual proper truck like you proper truck drivers drive and not quite what I was hoping for when applying for the CPC to use my “grandfather rights”.

I really thought I would be chewing on yorkie bars while passing kids fist pumping me to do the big horn as I passed them with my big wheels on the road, but the reality is chewing on a milky bars sat atop tiny little wheels not much bigger than a Luton’s.

I have lots of question and ambiguous / contradictory / non-existent answers from managers and other drivers does not make getting my head round things any easier, so I have joined a random truck forum where I hope I can meet people more experienced than myself to help me when things don’t make a lot of sense.

Hello from me to all of you.

SCFD