Hello. Total newbie. Need advice

Hi. I’m 24 (25 in 1 month), I live in Cardiff. I’m interested in getting a HGV license as my brother-in-law drivers a hi-ab (?) in South Wales. he’s been doing this for about 18 months and is already earning £22,000+, and mentions that he gets offered lots of jobs, and he works normal hours (9-5), so those few reasons are why I’d like to give this a shot.

I’ve got information from a few local companies - DLT Training, Red Dragon, Big Wheelers - and have been advised to go with DLT. They charge £911 for the rigid vehicle course and test, and £950 for the articulated vehicle training and test. I think Red Dragon charge around £650ish, but I’d rather to with DLT as people have recommended them as being the best.

I understand that I have to pass the theory test, I have the book for that (am still waiting on the DVD). First question: is the hazard perception test the same as for the car test?

Also I have got the D4 medical form. I’ve looked around that thread with all the doctors who will fill it in for a fee, but I think I’ll just ring my local doctor and see what they charge for it. Second question: my friend is a doctor. Can he fill in the form? Also, is there anything the doctor can fail you for? I have a medical condition that once caused me to have low blood iron. I take an iron tablet daily as maintenance basically, and haven’t had any problems with this for about 8 years. It doesn’t affect me in daily life in any way whatsoever.

Third question: do I need to get the medical form complete before I take the theory test?

Is there lots of work available for drivers? I’ve seen posts on here from people saying they’ve having trouble finding jobs etc.