Hello There

, Been lurking :open_mouth: :open_mouth: for a while.this is agreat site for information… my names Andrew, and I"m from S.Wales…I got my class 2 due to being a retained firefighter,it allows me to drive the appliance :sunglasses: …I am waiting to take an assesment drive for class 1 training. I would like a carreer move into driving.
Hopefully if I can pass my test, :astonished: it would give me the opportunity. Do you think I"m being realistic at 41 to try this, I have very little knowledge of tachos :blush: :blush: Although I read the posts on drivers hours,it seems to be very complicated ,I wanted to get into hgv driving when i was delivering repaired leaf springs for hgv"s, to transport yards around South Wales when i was 19,then the job finished like my dreams :cry: Any guidance greatly recieved… :smiley: :smiley:

Welcome to Trucknet Andrew,
I don’t think being 41 is going to be a problem, I know a former retained fireman who started driving trucks for a living after the factory he worked in closed down and I’m sure he was much older than 41. The main problem for drivers is under 25, but it’s really a question of going round haulage firms and asking for a job as there are companies who’ll take on new drivers of any age. Also the fire service training should also work to your advantage.

As for tachograph regulations, they arern’t as complicated as you think, (they even worse :laughing:) but don’t worry to much you’ll soon understand what you need to and you can always ask questions on trucknet. After all that’s what the Newbies forums for. :wink:

Andrew, you are of the ideal age and with prefect credentials, and I’d assume as an ex-fireman, confident and presentable. For you it should be a breeze… You’ll probably find your training school can get you a start.

I was 50 when I took up driving and have never looked back. From day one I went on permanent agency work, and within months the long haul, which is what I wanted.