Hello... I'm a newbie, thinking of taking my LGV

Hello

I’m new to these forums.
I’ve joined because I’ve had enough of my current job (paint sprayer for a car manufacturer) & I want a complete career change.
I’ve been seriously considering training to get my lgv license.
I quite fancy the job & think it would suit me pretty well & I understand that jobs are availiable when you obtain your license.
I have received mixed opinions from friends & family but I don’t actually know anyone who is a driver.
So I found this site & figured the best idea would be to speak to the people who actually do the job, i.e… you lot! :smiley:

Can you earn a decent living from lgv driving?
Is it a good job?
Would you recommend it?

Any thoughts, help, advice etc is gratefully received

Many thanks

Mark

I’d thoroughly recommend it. I worked in an office for 17 years and recently have been ‘house husbanding’ whilst the wife got maternity leave/promotions etc.

Passed my Cat C at fourth attempt (just) last August and consider myself very fortunate to be driving a 18 tonner delivering clothes to Top Shop and the likes through an Agency.

Put in some hard work and reap the rewards. It’s a tough old world but people I’ve met are genuine and helpful and get on with the job.

I’m loving the open road and the chance to do something real after years of stagnating and being messed around.

Good luck to you mate and take a chill pill when doing your training and test - we are all human and make mistakes - just stay calm and think/ plan ahead.

All the best…

Welcome to Trucknet Markymark :smiley:

You want to do what?? :open_mouth: :laughing:

Can you earn a decent living from lgv driving?

You can earn a decent living from HGV driving, but the hours can be long and unsociable, however don’t take to much notice of those boards at the side of the road saying HGV drivers wanted £800 pw. They are from agencies trying to get drivers on thier books.

Is it a good job?
Would you recommend it?