Hello from a newly qualified driver and plea for advice

Hi all,

I’ve been lurking for several months now and found the database of advice invaluable as I start my career.

My story so far is fairly typically others, I’m a mature new driver, only 46 but you have to accept you’re not a youngster at some point. I have been driving professionally for many years, although only 7.5t and vans until this summer. I passed my cat c and c+e in rapid succession and am now working agency’s to get experience. In the 3 months ofmpractical experience so far I’ve driven my share of good and bad trucks, my favourite so far is the Mercedes actros, least favourite is the Renaults.

I have a problem with the truck I drove today and would be grateful for your advice. The unit is a 57 plate MAN with 800,000 km’s on the clock. Today I was sent out on a delivery with an old trailer, previously I’ve been advised about incompatibilities between abs modules on older trailers and wasn’t surprised to see an abs warning light. I swapped trailers and then this is where things got worse, the abs fault remained, even though the trailer is only a couple of years old. The trailer was substantially heavier than the first and after only a couple of miles a red ‘stop’ indication appeared on the dashboard. I phoned the workshop and was told the code referred to worn injectors, which were scheduled for replacement, the mechanic explained that to much fuel was being reported to the ecu in the return pipe, this made the code appear. I was told it was safe to continue and I did so.