Hello and nervous

Hello all this is my first post as im a newbie here so will do the norm. My name is rich from southampton, im 25, had my class 1 since mar 2012 and starting my first hgv driving job on monday for a major container company. Im very nervous about the whole thing as it has taken me a long time and alot of interviews to get this.
I have the companys driving instructor with me for the first 3 days to just “observe” but still nervous. Cheers rich

I would have thought that observing would only be part of it - he’ll have to show you how the ports work etc.

Anyway best of luck.

Thanks for the reply, i will have to learn all the port procedures again as the last time i went to any ports i would have to sit in the security office and wait for my dad lol. ?Cheers rich :slight_smile:

I assume they know you don’t have any experience as a hgv driver and you’ve got a trainer with you, so you have a great opportunity to listen and learn. A bit of nerves I’d good, it means you’re not a cocky know it all who’ll be untrainable.

Who have you got a start with?

Good luck.

rich_giles:
Hello all this is my first post as im a newbie here so will do the norm. My name is rich from southampton, im 25, had my class 1 since mar 2012 and starting my first hgv driving job on monday for a major container company. Im very nervous about the whole thing as it has taken me a long time and alot of interviews to get this.
I have the companys driving instructor with me for the first 3 days to just “observe” but still nervous. Cheers rich

Congratulations on finding work and welcome to TNUK.

£10 says you went out and got a job rather than waiting for a job to come to you like the rest of the moaners on here?

Well done and good luck.

PS. It’s a piece of ■■■■, a monkey could do it. Just relax and take your time.

I hope this helps.

rich_giles: