Hangin up the keys

:smiley: Hi all.

The day of reckoning is nearly here, As of Friday I will be coming of the road for the first time in 14 Years.
As many of you lads and lasses would know I.ve been searching in that time for the dream job, You know the one that provides you with a great income and homelife But to no avail.
I’m going over to the dark side to be a yard shunter which is very close to home and great working hours, and the pay is significantly better that what I’m earning now as a class 1 driver, Which I feel is wrong.
I am currently working through agencyy for a large national haulier who incidently offered me a fulltime post. But I refuse to drive a 44ton truck for 8.50 per hour. I know some of you will think that’s a good wage but I’m a very experienced proffesional driver that wage to me and to anyone who takes it is insulting.

Has anyone made to transition on here from coming of the road, And have you found it easy?. I say this because allthough its a truck drivers prerogative to moan I do love being on the road and driving trucks. However I won’t miss the endless miserable ■■■■■■■ that I seem to endure more often. And the endless road works and average speed cameras, oh and the nutter that you encounter at the rdc from time to time.

Well that’s me signing of for now I hope all of you folks keep it safe and continue doing a great job

my short career driving (3 years, 17 trips total in class 1 :laughing: :laughing:) ended last week.

In the end i was driving a van for more than class one and i just wasn’t enjoying it whatsoever despite the company being tip top, can’t praise them enough.

I’ve started in a factory and the money,benefits,pension, proper overtime/shift allowance and career progression made it stupid to carry on driving. last week i worked 29 hours tuesday to thursday 2pm-10pm and friday 11am-4pm for £366, i have no complaints what so ever.

good luck with the new job. :smiley: