Had my first smack today

Hi all im a new driver been driving dustcarts for about 4 weeks today I had my first prang going down a narrow road tried to squeeze between 2 parked cars and ended up taking the back quarter of the one on my offside with my swing was to busy taking care with my nearside and have payed the price… no damage to the waggon smashed the back light and bumper on the car… the gaffer understandably wasnt very happy but he hasnt sacked me :slight_smile: but it has knocked my confidence quite a bit been out the rest of the day and not been to bad settled down a bit now… anyway I was just wondering does this happen to people much looking for some honesty is it normal for a new driver to have a little prang ? Any stories of things like this that have happend to you ? Just looking to get it of my chest feel really stupid right thinking why didnt i look but im just going to have to learn from the mistake thanks guys

put it behind you :slight_smile: no, it doesn’t happen to everyone… but it does happen to most of us.

think about it, the truck is x times bigger than a car, you spend many times more hours driving in a truck, and you go to places you would have no reason to in a car… then there are blindspots!

if I were a bookie… the odds of bumping a car and the odds of bumping a truck?

I have had a few prangs over the years. that’s how you learn. ideally you would learn without the bumps, but it does happen even to the best drivers. learn from it and move on :slight_smile:

Thanks mate really good post it just makes you feel like a idiot when it happens just been ■■■■■■ off with myself for letting it happen but like you said im gonna try and forget about it now whats dones done and just learn from it… chin up ay :unamused:

I had my first whoops moment last night, first one ever since I started driving nearly a decade ago.