Had A Bump :(

Yesterday was my first day out on my own driving for the company I have been working for, for the last 8 years. It all started off well I was down for an 11hr day (not including breaks) So started my day at 0400hrs and was given a 2004 DAF CF. Did all my pre start checks and being unfamiliar with the hand held “gun” the drivers at our place use didn’t get out of the yard until 0435hrs.

First off I noticed that the cradle didn’t work in the Rigid I was on so not only did my Sat Nav in the gun not work but it wasn’t charging the battery in it either. Not to worry though as I had come prepared with my own Sat Nav and Risk Assessments telling me how to get to stores from major routes.

After an hour and 25 mins driving and a diversion, I arrived at a place called Sparkhill near Birmingham City Center, I notice there is a fridge wagon parked on the loading area and I remembered from reading the risk assessment that it is a red route so no parking, I carried on for about 2 clicks till I found somewhere safe to turn around and went back in hope Mr Fridge man had gone. No luck he was still there so went another 2 clicks in the other direction to the round about to turn around again, this time Mr Warburton was there so I turned around again an decided to sod it I will wait. Luckily only had to wait 2 mins and he was gone.

After a 10 min wait a lad opened up and took the delivery, I loaded up their empties and card and it was off to the next store Henley In Arden.

Arrived at the store after about a 25 min drive to find that there is another delivery already there, so go past the store (as it is to be delivered through the front door) turned around and came back to be asked by the manager if I can just hold on for 15 mins as it is tip and turn and they were still putting the other delivery away, no probs sat and waited. Tipped and reloaded no problems and then was on my way to a place in Coventry called Eastern Green.