HA & VJ Phillips Transport (Southampton)

A few more pics kindly supplied by Kev Edwards

Sorry if I’ve post posted this in the wrong section but Im a newbie! I haven’t seen anything here at all posted about a firm my dad used to drive for in the early 1990s before they went bust. HA & VJ Phillips Transport (Harry Arnold & Virginia Jude) were based in the British Rail Railfrieght yard off of Imperial Road,Southampton (now a cement works) near the famous Old Farmhouse pub and also ran another yard on Radcliffe Rd (later taken over by one of Harry’s employees Alan Nichols) see: viewtopic.php?f=35&t=64176. It was only a small firm with a hand full of trucks and drivers but even know they were a small company they had some interesting work. Here is a satelite image from 1999 around the area of when they finished and pictures that were found in an old photo album my dad has kept.

Untitled.jpg

It would be great if anybody else knew anything about this firm or has any other pictures!

Hi Tom, i dont remember them but that blue Volvo was definitely an ex Davies motor.
Plenty of pics on the Davies thread.
regards …Tony

I remember Harry Phillips also his brother Mick worked for me for a few years!

mappo:
Hi Tom, i dont remember them but that blue Volvo was definitely an ex Davies motor.
Plenty of pics on the Davies thread.
regards …Tony

No it looks very similar to a Davies motor but this F10 was origionaly bright yellow. It was bought at an auction in London. Apparently, it was a young man trying to sell it to them but Harry managed to persuade them to MOT it etc before they bought it, which saved him some money. The pictures I have included were taken shortly after Harry’s brother, Mick, re-sprayed it on their premises.

Looks like a copy paint job Tony. Dont think Buzzer had a four wheeler F10 X reg?

Was Anne Phillips AKA The Mother Trucker, daughter of Arthur Phillips??, related to this firm? She used to drive an F89 on “twistlock turkey” work.